Syrinx Trio

The Syrinx Trio, Roberto Diaz (viola), Elizabeth Hainen (harp) and Jeffrey Khaner (flute), made its debut to high acclaim at Carnegie Hall in the 2000-2001 season. Since their inaugural season the trio has been captivating audiences and critics have regarded them “an astonishing spectacle of musicianship” and “certainly to be counted among the high points of this year.”The ensemble’s virtuosity and innovative programming have inspired composers to write for them, including a premiere for percussion and trio by Jonathan Leshnoff in their 2008 season.

Syrinx, a character from Greek mythology, was the inspiration for Debussy’s flute solo, the first unaccompanied flute solo of the 20th century. The trio was inspired by Debussy’s embracing of their instruments, especially the Sonata for flute, viola and harp, one of the greatest contributions to the chamber music repertoire. The ensemble’s members were brought together as principal players of The Philadelphia Orchestra and are an ensemble-in-residence at the Curtis Institute of Music.

In programs that combine astounding skills and timbres, Syrinx evokes a melodious tapestry that takes their audiences to musical landscapes.

Syrinx Trio Sample Program

Roberto Diaz, viola
Elizabeth Hainen, harp
Jeffrey Khaner, flute

Elegiac Trio
Sir Arnold Bax (1883-1953)

Trio for flute, viola and harp
Harold Genzmer (1909-2007)
I. Fantasia
II. Scherzo
III. Notturno
IV. Thema mit Variationen ├╝ber altes Volkslied


Walter Piston (1894-1976)

Sonate en trio, L. 137
Claude Debussy (1862-1918)
I. Pastorale
II. Interlude
III. Final